Book Thoughts: Sting in the Tale, by Dave Goulson

In 2013 I read the, for me, impressive number of 45 books. I already know that for 2014 I will get nowhere near this number, since so far this year I have only read three. The last one is the book I mentioned a while ago, ‘A Sting in the Tale’, by Dave Goulson.

P1020426_small

I loved this book, for a number of reasons:

  1. I love natural history books and tv-shows, so the theme was right up my alley. I find it fascinating to read about how these creatures live and go about their daily work.
  2. It is very readable, offering a good mix of facts and anecdotes. This mix reminded me of ‘A short history of nearly everything’, by Bill Bryson.
  3. I am trained as a scientist, so I found it fascinating to read about the methods that are required to conduct research into bumblebees.
  4. I learnt a lot about the ecosystem that I live in and the importance of having a real garden, instead of a paved one.

So, this comes highly recommended if you have an interest in natural history, gardening and/or scientific research methods.

My main take-away from this book is that conservation is something that all of us can contribute to, even with a small garden, or a container garden. It feels very good to be able to actually do something about the conservation of these insects.

This entry was posted in Books, Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

